Dinner at est.

Alas, a degustation dinner at est. It’s been a long time coming and I was really looking forward to it, especially since everyone’s been raving about it.

And, it did not disappoint. Definitely one of the best experiences I have ever had. The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was exceptional. One of my friends has seafood allergy and they did very well in modifying the tasting menu to cater for his allergy. Great selection of wine, most are quite pricey, some aren’t so bad. We ordered 2 bottles of Mr Riggs Shiraz at $50 a bottle (usually about $17-$20 RRP) which wasn’t too bad for a fine dining service. By the way, if you are paying with Citibank credit card (which we did, yay) you’ll get a complimentary bottle of wine :)

The dinner started with a selection of complimentary bread which was very welcoming; I even had second :P. Waiting time is about 15 – 20 minutes for each dish so you do have to be patient. Absolutely love the service! There were 8 people in our table and no one had to wait for their plate even for a second. In fact, the wait staff would line up behind us until the rest of the staff arrived after which they put the plate in a synchronised manner on the table – very cool!

One of my favourite dishes of the night was the steamed coral trout fillet with ginger – green shallot vinaigrette. A delicate dish with tender and soft fish and aromatic ginger dressing, topped with shaved abalone, julienned snow peas and black fungus for a lovely crunchy texture.

I wasn’t sure how I would feel about eating the roasted duck foie gras, ethically I felt pretty bad but damn it tasted so good; very creamy, delicate and ultra-rich. I found it pretty gamey though with quite strong liver flavour, definitely not for everyone but I almost licked my plate clean.

The pan roasted lamb rib eye was another favourite of mine. The lamb was beautifully cooked and I love the combination of ajo blanco (bread, almond, garlic, water and olive oil emulsion, says google), rolled dates and fresh fenugreek with crumbed salsify to complement the great flavour of the lamb. Now, I never had salsify roots before and it was certainly a great introduction to this ancient wildflower/vegetable also known as goatsbeard or oyster plant. It has a nutty, earthy taste with slight sweetness to it it looks like a slimmer version of parsnip or parsley root. It’s now definitely on my ‘new ingredients to experiment with’ list.

Dessert was fabulous!. Although, I was kicking myself when I tasted my friend’s dessert. Mind you, my mascarpone citrus cannoli, fraises des bois, pink grapefruit sorbet was very very good. But the passionfruit soufflé was probably the best dessert soufflé I have ever tasted. Truly absolutely heavenly; smooth and creamy, not too sweet with loads of passionfruit flavour. It was so good that it inspired me to try and make soufflé for the first time, the next day, much to my disappointment as it didn’t measure up to the quality of est. soufflé, why did I even bother *cry*. Guess I’ll just have to come back again to have some more of est. soufflé. Probably in a few months time, I’m still paying for this dinner.

est. tasting menu is $175 pp

jerusalem artichoke, salsify, shave bonito, buckwheat, sorrel

moreton bay bug, cavolo nero, green peas, young turnips, chervil

steamed coral trout fillet, shaved abalone, snow peas, black fungi, ginger – green shallot vinaigrette

roasted duck foie gras, onions, hazelnuts, brioche crumbs, apple – vanilla sauce

pan roasted lamb rib eye, crumbed salsify, ajo blanco, rolled dates, fresh fenugreek

rhubarb sorbet, cucumber and rhubarb, hendricks gin gel

mascarpone citrus cannoli, fraises des bois, pink grapefruit sorbet

passionfruit souffle, passionfruit sorbet

mignardises a.k.a petit four

my first time ever lime souffle >_<

Est. on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dinner at est.

Leave a Reply

