IMG_0779

Food Society – Darlinghurst

This post has been a long time coming.

I went to Food Society a month ago and have been raving about it to everyone I know ever since. A few people who went following my recommendation also gave it a raving review so it’s about time I share my Eastern European dining experience on this eccentric restaurant on Riley St, Darlinghurst.

Food Society has a certain grungy, quirky feel about it which I found quite charming; antique furniture, colourful cushions, random paintings and decoration scattered across the room – they all sort of work. The live music on the night (it was Sunday night) also helped set the mood which to me was somewhat.. romantic.

The night started strong with Beetroot and vodka cured ocean trout blinis with dill cream which I scoffed down in less than 5 seconds…literally.

and Chicken liver parfait with onion jam and toasted breads for entree no. 2

The liver parfait was smooth and delicious, cutely presented in a jar and topped with lots and lots of butter. Tried to avoid the butter when digging into the parfait but failed quite miserably (never mind the extra calories). The onion jam was sweet and intense. The strong caramelised flavour really cuts through the fat of the liver parfait thus having a direct proportion effect to the amount of liver parfait consumed (more onion jam= more liver parfait). Yum.

and the dish which I will come back for more - Fried cauliflower with paprika, parsley, watercress and red wine vinegar. Absoloutely unmistakably good (double positives noted). Just another deep fried veg it is anything but. Batter so light and crunchy it would give your finest tempura a run for its yen, delicately spiced and seasoned – I would seriously turn vego for this and that says a lot.Of course one can not dine at an Eastern European restaurant without having an Eastern European beer. So, I ordered one beer recommended by our friendly waiter in the chequered shirt – Nektar, a Bosnian beer. I liked it.  I find it very balanced in terms of bitterness and sweetness with light to medium body. Dry, refreshing and easy to drink with great malty taste. Obviously I’m no beer connoisseur but hey, one can pretend.

Or Eastern European vodka if you’re not a beer person - Żołądkowa Gorzka Orange and Clove. A unique Polish herbal vodka. It has a very distinctive taste which is hard to describe (fruity?), very aromatic and smooth as. 

For main no.1: Lamb ribs with sliced potatoes, tomato, eggplant and rosemary. Nicely cooked lamb; medium rare, just the way I like it. Quite a rich dish, simple flavours yet well executed.

Main no. 2: Chicken breast with potato dumplings, mushrooms and paprika Iceberg lettuce with red onion and cucumberPossibly the moistest chicken breast I have ever tasted in my life. Potato dumplings were also awesome and the rich sauce was so good I could have licked the plate clean if I wasn’t about to explode from all the food and drinks. Seriously, as Alton Brown would say, this is ‘Good Eats’….hmm…actually…this is ‘ Great Eats’.

OK – dessert would not have been possible if I wasn’t:  (a) a pig (b) dessert maniac (c) a food blogger or (d) all of the above. By this stage I was so full I couldn’t make myself finish my main, eventhough there wasn’t much leftovers. I hate not finishing my plate so that showed just how full I was.

For some reason I managed to have 50% of the dessert - Society signature paska with strawberry compote. Basically a Russian baked cheesecake topped with crumble and strawberry compote. The non-sweet crumble by itself tastes ‘interesting’ if not a little bland, you need to eat it with all the other elements for the flavours to come together. The dessert kind of look like a delicious mess. It was good, although, I would prefer more strawberry compote and less crumble at this stage of the night.

There are possibly a few more vodkas and other aperitif I forgot to mention…. lets say I did not drive home….Can’t wait to come back and do it all over again.

Food Society on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Food Society – Darlinghurst

  1. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of
    plagorism

    or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content

    I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up

    all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

